The Meaning of Life……

9 Aug

Statistically, I should be able to live quite happily in the 21st century.  According to the numbers I have enough food to eat, I will not be killed by extremes of weather, nor will I be a victim of sectarian violence.  The reason I feel unable to live in contemporary society is more subtle and much more impersonal……

The developments that have moulded the modern world are largely reliant upon an individual fitting a predetermined model.  If the automated announcement doesn’t have a selection which suits your enquiry you can find yourself unable to further your query.  In a bid to streamline systems and reduce the costs to providers of services, from banks to the NHS, organisations have placed multiple layers of administration between the service user and a human being that may be able to help you but, even if you get that far, there may not be a ‘box’ for them to tick.  If you happen to fall within the range of the statistics that were used to design the system you will not face any problems in this area; if you’re needs fall outside of the ‘norm’, you inevitably will……

Pigeon holing people is the first of the obstacles I face.  The second, and more challenging, is that of seeing a positive future in which things improve.  Here’s how I see mine.  Currently, I have nothing other than the worn out clothes I wear.  My income is the lowest amount of money payable by the DWP.  I have no qualifications and a patchy work record littered with dismissals.  I cannot drive.  Therefore, I see my prospects of work being limited to a minimum wage job and one from which I will derive no pleasure.  Supposing I get such a job, the income will barely cover my living cost, leaving nothing to either pursue a hobby or further my education to improve my prospects.  So I ask myself the question, “do I want to do a job from which I derive no pleasure, for a wage that makes existing just about possible and, do it for another 36 years only to find that at then end of it I will have no private pension income and be living on a breadline not dissimilar from the one I exist on now?”  Only by then I will be older and find life even more of a struggle……

It does not seem to make any difference how ever many ways I try to look into my future.  The outcome is the same; bleak.  My dear Mother tells me that is the way the cookie crumbles and you just have to put up with it and make the most with the cards you have been dealt.  I see it differently.  Why suffer a life without reward to reach an inevitable end which, given a lack of material wealth is likely to be undignified and at the minimum of standards.  Checking out early is one solution……

There is nothing to fear about death.  The fear is usually associated with the moment of death and the fear of pain at that point.  If dying is not painful then the fear of death is removed.  There are many ways of achieving this and, although most have many obstacles placed in the way, some are easily achievable if you know what you are doing.  Once the fear of death, or rather the fear associated with the moment of death, has been removed, you are left only with questions of belief or spirituality……

I do not believe in any form of theological ‘god’, nor do I believe in a divine creator of any sort.  You are a conscious entity as long as your brain has a supply of oxygen; remove that supply and your consciousness disappears, forever.  You do not transcend to a ‘higher’ dimension or go to any ‘heaven’, or in my case hell.  From my own point of view being dead is like not being born.  I can’t seem to remember spending the 13.7 billion years that the universe existed prior to my birth ‘worrying’ about not having been born.  Nor do I imagine I will spend the next 4 or 5 billion years until the Sun ‘burns’ out worrying about being dead.  To me the whole idea of a ‘before’ and ‘after’ is nothing more than a human construct created to try and give some meaning to the seemingly pointless reason for us to have existed in the first place……

For me the answer is simple and logical.  If there is no reason to live, then don’t; therein saving yourself from a lifetime of misery, literally.  There is only one person on this planet for who my death would be painful.  Therefore, I am waiting until my passing will not cause distress.  Then I will end the suffering we call ‘life’……

Q.E.D.

Leave a Reply

