Pascal’s Wager……

29 Jun

The Three Certainties of Life……

We are born.  We will die.  There is no God.  Of the three, I have proof of the first two.  Of the third, I have seen no empirical evidence, indeed all of mankind’s self conjured ‘evidence’ it seems to me as if most, even if they are reluctant to admit it, have taken Pascal’s wager that the pronouncement of belief, even if one does not, is a winning bet in that, when the day of judgement comes if you do meet your maker you can claim your place in eternity.  If, on the other hand, there is no God, you have lost nothing.  The only irrationality of taking this position is that if the God of fiction really watches over everything you do and knows what you are thinking, at the moment of judgment you will have been busted……

The first point, we are born, I know to be true unless, as has been hypothesised we are merely automatons in a vast computer simulation, because I was born.  The second point, we will die, I also know to true as I have personal experience of this also……

It is the uncertainties of life with which I struggle.  I was not born in the unfortunate position of being a peasant in a third world country.  I should therefore consider my blessings.  We have a welfare state, healthcare and I have a roof over my head.  This does not, however, negate the inner turmoil which pervades most of my waking moments.  I have achieved nothing feel trapped inside a life that should belong to somebody else and can find little reason to continue with the painful reality of life for another 30 years, or hopefully less should ‘God’ intervene……

I have no fear of death.  Any manifest fear of death is the point at which I cross over from being alive to being dead.  It is this that causes my search for a pain free exit to continue and should I find one I will take it……

Whatever happens, should there be a service and anybody bothers to attend, do not say a prayer.  That is a situation I have experienced at two funerals of people whose belief in God was one of Pascal’s wager.  I’ll take my chances……

Leave a Reply

