A Turn Up for the Books……

26 Jun

Funny how things change?  My ex-employer, having scant disregard for any established protocol and having flouted the Data Protection Act in publicising my private & confidential medical details without my written consent, or even requesting it, have now instructed their legal representatives to ask my permission to have my doctors & other agencies charged with my care report on my circumstances past or present……

During the disciplinary action instigated against me, my manager, Manjit Chahal, gave an unqualified & highly inaccurate report for ‘background’ information which disclosed many confidential medical details, drew assumptions therein & made claims regarding medicines which I was not, have not & am not prescribed.  All of this made a not insignificant contribution to painting a picture of me, for the benefit of the ‘panel’, which suited their flimsy & unsubstantiated claim that I was in fact a drug dealer.  Of course drug dealers generally undertake a menial office jobs, presumably as a cover for their lucrative sideline……

Timing is Everything……

This happened just after I contacted the Information Commissioner’s Office to report them for abusing the regulations & failing to answer an official request to find out just how many copies of their ‘background’ details they had spread around the company for all to see.  The documentation states quite clearly upon it – CONFIDENTIAL MEDICAL INFORMATION – TO HELD BY OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH ONLY.  The manager admits to obtaining this information from his own personal computer & to changing the dates on the form.  Dates which by an amazing coincidence fit the dates he gave in his statement otherwise he would have known things which were not confirmed by a clinician until after he claims to have known them……

The ICO are taking my complaint very seriously & investigating.  Until such point as I have an acceptable answer I won’t be giving any consent for them to pry a little further into my private life, speak to any clinician treating me or to disclose any information.  I’ll be playing my cards close to my chest & saving up the cascade of incompetent, illegal actions taken by my ex-employers to support their tenuous case, for the judge at the employment tribunal to decide……

In the manager’s opening gambit he asserts that I was taking ‘sleeping tablets’.  He makes this statement 3 times.  I am not & have never been prescribed sleeping tablets.  In his ignorance he has confused Diazepam, which is in a category of drugs known as Anxyolotics, which are given to relieve stress with Hypnotics which are given to assist sleep.  Clinically the 2 would never be prescribed together.  He also asserts that no-one taking that medication would display signs of drowsiness the following day despite the fact that the label states – WARNING MAY CAUSE DROWSINESS THE FOLLOWING DAY.  IF AFFECTED DO NOT DRIVE OR OPERATE MACHINERY.  Plus the fact that a great deal of medications are known to react with one & other to heighten such effects.  Again, his statement was made with the sole purpose of fitting in with other facts……

In my opinion & that of my solicitor, my ex-employer has invented facts which are not substanciated by the medical evidence, broken laws pertaining to the use & storage of CONFIDENTIAL MEDICAL INFORMATION, failed to follow procedure and rearranged their case of gross misconduct to facts of which they were not aware at the outset of the whole fiasco……

I’ll see you in court, then we’ll see who’s the one at fault?……

I’ll keep you posted……

Leave a Reply

