Irony (and Quantum Theory)……

22 Jun

6.40am……

The irony of depression is that when all you want to do is sleep, you can’t.  Only for a couple of hours each night, max……

For me this is, like most of my life, an ironic contradiction.  I spend many long hours reading books or watching documentaries about Quantum Theory, Cosmology and big science stuff.  That, in turn, leads me to think very, very deeply about the nature of our existence, how and why it all works and other brain twisting stuff……

Thing is; the more you know, the less you understand.  As the world famous physics giant Richard Feyman, the father of Quantum Electro Dynamics once said; “Don’t try to understand it.  My Phd students don’t understand it.  I don’t understand it, nobody does”.  It doesn’t stop the questions from coming none the less.  Hurry up CERN, I need answers!  Something tells me I’ll only end up with more questions though?

If you’re a regular to the Dripping Tap you’ll no doubt know my feelings on life, death and the fine line between them.  It would be nice to have some reconciliation before crossing the line.  Strange how a lot of scientific geniusiz ended up in mental institutions of taking their own lives……

Happy Solstice for yesterday by the way (sorry I forgot).  Which in my world basically means it’s all down hill from here……

Chin up……

Leave a Reply

