Depression

4 Nov

Depression is a debilitating disease. If you think it’s a simple case of feeling a bit unhappy about life, you’re mistaken. Let me try and explain what it does to me when it rears its ugly head as it has again.

I stop functioning. I don’t feel I have the energy to get out of bed. My physical health takes serious punishment. I drink more. I don’t eat. I swing through a range of emotions from suicidal to guilt. There can be moments of laughter but as they pass you return to the dark void that is your life, your depression.

The answer from the health professionals is varied. Benzodiazepines and Anti-depressants seem to be the norm. Any question of tackling the underlying and deeply engrained problems that started the whole process are not addressed. Even if you are placed on the waiting list to see a professional counsellor, this will usually take months, if not years to happen.

I would like to thank the people who have contributed to my current state of mind and hope for their sake it doesn’t happen to them.

Thank you. You know who you are………

Leave a Reply

